Gardening

I used to be a professional gardener but when it comes time to make my veggie garden every spring, I really don’t feel like one. Sometimes I’m inspired (but that usually happens in February and will peter out by May) but this year I’ve been overwhelmed. We had a baby boy April 13th (Hagen) and that’s made it tough for me to think about the garden. Also, there was one good weekend for rototilling in May but that’s when Jake decided to knock out the wall between the kitchen and dining room (I’m not complaining about that!! It looks great!) After that weekend we had, what my mum refers to as, a monsoon. It just rained and rained. Finally, it’s dry enough and the people we were going to borrow the tiller from have gone out of town for the week. So we have to hand bomb it. We’ve got a long way to go but we will get it done this year! Hopefully it’ll all be in by Saturday.

 

This is what I’m planning on planting:

  • Peas
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumbers
  • Lettuce
  • Green and Yellow Beans

I’m trying to stick to the basics this year and really cut down on what we usually plant just because of baby. Our garden is about 900 ft² so it’s ample size to feed our family. I’m going to leave large spaces between the rows so I don’t freak when Sage or Matthew decided to take a garden stroll. I also learned last year that we need access to raspberries on the south side or things will get crushed. Nothing gets between my kids and their raspberries! Jake and I are also going to get the kids weeding this year. This makes me, a control freak, a bit nervous but they’ve got to learn sometime. Sage is 5 now so we’re trying to give her more responsibilities around the house. Speaking of which, she just told me her room’s all organized and I have to go see it!

~ by maknitobamomma on June 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
