Father’s Day

We had a lovely Father’s Day thanks for asking 🙂

My MIL has some weird desire to go to Assiniboine Park every Father’s Day with her family and all of her daughter-in-law’s families to have a picnic and that’s what we did! I was up at 6 to take Parker for a walk and then I really got started!

I had made a rhubarb pie the day before so it was cooled and ready to go. I then made two loaves of French Bread. While I waited for the bread to rise, I got started on Blueberry Pancakes for my hubby (who was still in bed! I was up before him for the second time this week!!!) These are the best pancakes any of my immediate family have tried. I usually don’t like pancakes because they’re too heavy but these ones are a lot lighter:

Light ‘N Fluffy Pancakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 8 tsp oil
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp sugar

Beat eggs. Add oil and milk, then dry ingredients. Cook.

I usually use whole wheat flour and they’re still delicious (if not more so, but that’s my opinion!). When I make blueberry pancakes I use about 1 cup of blueberries.

We then drove into Winnipeg to meet our families for the picnic. It was great food and great company. The mosquitoes weren’t even as bad as I thought they’d be because there was a bit of a breeze. We took the kids on the steam train, which I think is the best bit of entertainment available in Winnipeg for $2.50 a person, then headed on home. It was a bit of a whirlwind day but well worth the effort. I hope everyone else’s Father’s Days were as nice!

~ by maknitobamomma on June 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
