Saskatoon

We had a great time in Saskatoon this weekend. We were visiting a friend I made in Alberta, who moved to Sudbury, who was visiting her parents in Saskatoon. Saskatoon is 5 1/2 hours from here and Sudbury is closer to 20, so we hopped in the van and headed west! I was pretty nervous about travelling by myself with three kids, most of all a 2 month old baby, but it went surprisingly well.

I am so glad Lisa and I have stayed in touch all this time. This visit made it all worthwhile. Our girls seemed to pick up right where they left off. Impressive, considering the last time they played together was when they were 1 year olds. We both have 3 year old boys and they took a little longer to get to know each other but it happened. At one point Lisa caught them “scheming” together. Most importantly, on Saturday night, Lisa and I got to sit down and enjoy some wine and conversation. This is something we’ve both been wanting to do for a long time now and it was worth the wait.

I know it was only a weekend but it really recharged me. We stayed with her parents and her mom insisted on making all the meals (she told me she’s a hard one to help). I at least managed to make strawberry shortcake for dessert on Saturday night. It was nice to be able to sit and watch my kids play instead of trying to get a million things done around the house and keep them busy at the same time! I expected to come home and be exhausted but I feel fantastic.

I also came home to an amazingly clean house. My darling Jacob washed floors on his hands and knees and de-cluttered some of the spots that had been driving me nuts. I guess he was listening to my mutterings after all!

~ by maknitobamomma on June 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
