Listomania!

Since seeing all my Christmas knitting in list-form has made me feel a smidgen better about the holidays, I thought I’d throw the baking into a list too! I actually started my baking last week but, alas, we have eaten it all. To be fair, it was only a 9 x 9 brownie and I was trying a new recipe, so we had to sample it to make sure it wasn’t poisonous. It turns out it’s quite safe (and beautiful for a Christmas tray) so I’ll be making it again! If anyone’s interested in trying this, let me know. There are some mistakes in the written recipe, which I may not have caught had I not seen the show. Martha should be ashamed of herself 😉

This is what will be on my baking trays. My goal is to have all baking done by December 1st.

1. 4 9 x 9’s of Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies.

2. 2 9 X 13’s of Pucker-Up Squares. These are great but quite messy on trays and very hard to get out of the pan. I may try lining it with parchment this time. I just like something a bit sour to go with all the crazy sweet stuff.

3. LOTS of Chow Mein Cookies. These are oh so easy to make and everyone’s favourite. Can’t get enough of these puppies. Seriously.

4. 3 9 x 13’s of Peanut Butter and Marshmallow Square. Since I’ll have the butterscotch chips anyways….

5. 2 batches Almond Snowballs. These are absolutely all they’re cracked up to be. The recipe claims to make 42 cookies and, if memory serves, comes quite close. The kids love throwing the chocolate chips in the middle.

6. Sugar cookies and icing for Jac & the kids to decorate Christmas Eve (this doesn’t have to be done by the 1st).

I would also like to make some Poppycock for gifting if I get my nerve up. After the Almond Roca fiasco, anything with a candy thermometer scares me a tad. I have a fabulous recipe though (sworn to secrecy on this one) and advice will be available via telephone so I may just do it.

This list did not make me feel much better. Not at all, really but at least I’ve got it written down?

~ by maknitobamomma on November 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “Listomania!”

  1. Hey!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    I am enjoying reading your posts and getting to know you.
    Your Christmas Baking list sounds so yummy:)
    Mine usually includes some traditional family favorites,like my Grandmas cookie recipe that her mother brought over from Italy!
    Have a great day!

  2. You have some very lucky family members and friends that will be enjoying all that baking!! I always hope to get something baked, a few cards mailed, a Christmas party attended but it seems I fall short every year. I’ve never tried a list first – I like lists…makes me feel organized and on top of things! I think I’ll give it a try – I wish someone liked Gingerbread Men in my house, always thought those little guys were cute. Keep us posted on how many items get baked and off the list!

Leave a Reply

 
