Gentle Guidance

My husband and I have started to notice our 2 oldest kids becoming a couple of little brats. I do not like the word “brats” so I’m not using it lightly. They’ve been out of control – however, so have I. I can’t speak for him but boy am I sick of the sound of my voice these past few weeks. I’m always repeating myself and raising my voice. I caught a glimpse of myself in the grocery store window the other day and didn’t even recognize the reflection. I have become “that mum”. The grumpy one who snaps at her kids. The one whose kids are running wild and asking for everything. It’s been a gradual change but we, as a family, are at a place we don’t like right now. Time to crack down. 

It probably all started to go downhill when I found out I was pregnant with Hagen. I was a little more tired, so let a few more things slide. This has carried on and now he’s almost 7 months and I’ve got kids I hesitate to bring out in public. Today, I stopped raising my voice and became The Enforcer. Any time I had to repeat myself, time out with timers on. Poor kids probably sat in the corner 8 times each today. I think it may have worked, though. By the end of the day, I recognized them as my own again. Dinnertime was fun – we talked and enjoyed each other’s company without having to constantly repeat commands. I’m not naive enough to believe that everyday will go as well as today (yes, I remember, I said 8 time-outs each but it worked the way it’s supposed to) but we’re going to pay attention to consistency as much as possible and go from there!

Because we had such a good day, Sage and I managed to make 2 (count ’em 2!!) of the Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies. I’m heading off to cut them right now and get them into the freezer before anyone is tempted to eat them.

Christmas Baking: Baking done prior to or during the Christmas season that no one is allowed to touch (or even think about) until a date predetermined by the baker. Touching said baking before the predetermined date will result in a well-deserved hand slap and potential silent treatment. Any attempts to argue with the baker will result in long, drawn out lecture explanation of nice things done for the family by intended recipients. ***Be warned, these explanations are already ready and well-rehearsed***

~ by maknitobamomma on November 10, 2010.

One Response to “Gentle Guidance”

  1. Oh my goodness do I ever remember those days with the kids. Once kids figure out their limits, they’ll quit. Your kids are adorable!

Leave a Reply

 
