Come One, Come All!

We have been hunkered down with a doozy of a cold these past few days. My body has not yet succumbed, neither have hubby nor baby (knock wood) but my eldest children have been suffering. Poor dears. We’ll all be okay. I have a feeling that I’ll finally get it when everyone else is okay and overly hyper again. Alas, the mother’s curse ūüôā

I had planned to come to you with an eloquent blog about my Splurge (I will post a pic, I promise – and explain what “splurge” is all about) but it’s not to be. You see, my town and surrounding areas have been hit with a winter storm! Hooray! Buried in snow, finally. I. Love. Winter. (please remind me I said this come Valentine’s Day!) Being that we’ve been a bit storm-and-cold/flu-stayed, I bring you (drum roll please):

Heather’s Fabulous Cure-All and Enjoy Eating Chicken Noodle Soup

This is my very own recipe, tweaked over the years to be extraordinarily un-measured, tasty and guaranteed* to cure the common cold.

Make Stock:

Ingredients:

2 – 3¬†chicken carcass’ from freezer (these come from those wonderful Sunday dinners. Be lazy and wasteful when you carve your chicken, then throw the whole carcass in a¬†freezer bag and save for a day when you just need to make soup!)

2 – 3 onions, cut in eighths

enough water to cover chicken

3 heaping tbsp’s chopped garlic

2 – 3 bay leaves

2 tbsps Celtic Sea Salt (or salt of your choice, but this one is guilt free!)

Throw all ingredients into large soup pot and boil the sh!t out of it. (this may be why no one’s approached me to write a cookbook!)¬†I usually boil mine for 2 – 3 hours. Strain stock and save the gross chicken parts.

This makes about twice the stock needed for the soup. Throw it in jars and freeze it.

 

And now, the soup:

2 tbsp olive oil

5 medium carrots, chopped

5 stalks celery, chopped

2 large onions, chopped

1 28 0z can diced tomatoes

1 tbsp parsley

1 tsp thyme

Stock

1 – 2 tbsp chicken bouillon powder (I use Epicure, which is¬†not at all salty. If you’re using something else, you may want to cut this down)

2 cups chicken (from gross chicken parts, trust me) 

2 cups cooked noodles

Salt and Pepper to taste

Sweat onions, celery and carrots in large dutch oven for 1 Р2 minutes, just to bring out flavours. Add spices, heat until fragrant. Pour stock into dutch oven until 3/4 full. Bring to boil. Add tomatoes, heat to boil again. Simmer until carrots are cooked (about 20 minutes). Meanwhile, fish through saved chicken parts for any good meat. This sounds gross but waste not, want not. There is always a lot of meat left over on my chickens and this gets it used. If this is not up your alley, use any other cooked chicken. Add chicken to soup. Salt, pepper and boullion to taste.

Cook noodles separately according to package directions. Serve on the side. This is a large recipe and if there are leftovers, the noodles end up quite unappetizing.

Enjoy!

I always add rooster sauce to mine. It adds extra sinus-clearing oomph.

*I didn’t really mean “guarantee”. I just meant there’s lots of garlic in this soup and you’ll feel a bit better after eating it. Sorry if I got you excited about a cure for the common cold. I don’t have one. Hence this disclaimer.

What’s your favourite bad weather, cozy-up recipe?

~ by maknitobamomma on November 19, 2010.

One Response to “Come One, Come All!”

  1. We’ve been having colds over here as well. I love to have a hot bowl of chili on a cold winter day…Or homemade pizza.

Leave a Reply

 
